Police Memorial Day Ceremony set for May 14

Planning Committee Seeks Relatives of Fallen Officers

CCPD Color Guard
CCPD Color Guard Presents Colors during 2011 Peace Officers Memorial Day Ceremony

On Monday May 14th, the Corpus Christi Police Department, Nueces County Sheriff’s Office, and the Port of Corpus Christi Police Department will gather to host the sixth annual Regional Peace Officers Memorial Day Ceremony.  This year’s event once again will be held at the Solomon P. Ortiz International Center Outdoor Pavilion, 402 Harbor Drive, Corpus Christi.   The ceremony is a tribute to all Peace Officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty, specifically recognizing those officers from the Coastal Bend who have made the ultimate sacrifice for their community. Keynote speaker for this year’s Ceremony will be Chief of Police Floyd Simpson. The public is cordially invited to attend.Members of the Peace Officers Memorial Day planning committee are seeking current addresses for family members of the fallen officers so they can be invited and properly recognized during the ceremony.  If you are a family member, or can provide the address for a family member of any of these fallen officers please contact:

Executive Assistant to
Chief Floyd Simpson
Teri Barrera
(361) 886-2603
Commander Todd Green
(361) 826-2984
2011 Peace Officers Memorial Day Ceremony
Texas Attorney General Greg Abbott delivers keynote address at 2011 Regional Peace Officers Memorial Day Ceremony


Corpus Christi City Marshal Elias Mussett Jr.
END OF WATCH: May 6, 1892
Corpus Christi Police Officer Luther B. Prather
END OF WATCH: September 14, 1919
Corpus Christi Police Officer Joseph L. Moon
END OF WATCH: June 10, 1938
Corpus Christi Police Officer Roy N. Smith
END OF WATCH: April 20, 1953
Corpus Christi Police Officer John W.  Sartain
END OF WATCH: August 20, 1971
Corpus Christi Police Officer Ruben T. Almanza
END OF WATCH: July 27, 1984
Corpus Christi Police Officer Joseph D. Bock
END OF WATCH: September 9, 1987
Corpus Christi Police Officer Juan R. Prieto
END OF WATCH: February 2, 1993
Corpus Christi Police Officer Matthew Thebeau
END OF WATCH: January 20, 2008
Corpus Christi Police Officer Stuart J. Alexander
END OF WATCH: March 11, 2009
Port Of Corpus Christi Police Officer James Saavedra
END OF WATCH: December 19, 2007
Nueces County Sheriff’s Deputy Thomas Nolan
END OF WATCH: August 13, 1860
Nueces County Sheriff Matthew Nolan
END OF WATCH: December 22, 1864
Nueces County Sheriff Dennis J. Kelly
END OF WATCH: June 13, 1870
Nueces County Sheriff’s Deputy Thomas Shaw
END OF WATCH: September 1877
Nueces County Sheriff’s Deputy Alexander S. Downs J.
END OF WATCH: October 16, 1932
Nueces County Sheriff’s Deputy Irvin M. Brown
END OF WATCH: February 13, 1995
Nueces County Constable Pct 1 Patrick 2. Freely
END OF WATCH: March 25, 1917
Nueces County Constable Pct 1 R.R. Bledsoe
END OF WATCH: July 5, 1925
Nueces County Constable Pct 1 Carl M. Bisbee
END OF WATCH: July 6, 1925
Nueces County Constable Pct 6 Patrick S. Runyon
END OF WATCH: February 7, 1981